Silence

MEANING:

A proverbial saying, often used in circumstances where it is thought that saying nothing is preferable to speaking.

ORIGIN:

As with many proverbs, the origin of this phrase is obscured by the mists of time. There are reports of versions of it dating back to Ancient Egypt.

That fuller version – ‘speech is silver; silence is golden‘, is still sometimes used, although the shorter form is now more common.

The same thought is expressed in a 16th century proverb, now defunct – as many present-day feminists would prefer it:

“Silence is a woman’s best garment.”

Read More @ Silence Is Golden

Silence is pure and holy.

It draws people together because only those who are comfortable with each other can sit without speaking.

~  Nicholas Sparks, The Notebook

Click to visit the original post

Gosh! My immune system finally gave way to the cold cold weather and after vomiting out my lunch and dinner (perhaps gotten food poisoned by my own cooking? hmmm….) during last Friday.

Spent a night shivering inside my bed after vomiting despite wearing a pair of socks and an oversize pull-over sweater,  I was busy chasing after my ‘running nose’ for the past two days…

ლ(`ー´ლ) I AM OFFICIALLY VOICELESS TODAY ლ(`ー´ლ)

ヽ(´▽`)/ Well, I do enjoy this silent Monday of mine (but I do hope it won’t for too long…LOL…) as long as my throat is not as painful as the past two days. ヽ(´▽`)/

Before ending this post,

‘The Cherry Tree Carol’ and ‘Little Drummer Boy’ are the two favourite Christmas songs of Lilly (and Chloe) @ Free Range Cow.

Christmas… is not an external event at all,

but a piece of one’s home that one carries in one’s heart.

~ Freya Stark 

A big THANK YOU to Lilly for sharing her favourite Christmas songs with us!

Have a great Monday ahead, always!

Till then,

Cheers & TTFN~ 😀

Our Fimo Nail Art Decor

Handcraft Jewelry Banner

Credits: Some lovely pictures found in this post are downloaded from FreeDigitalPhotos.net

